Ursula von der Leyen became the President of the European Commission on December 1, 2019. Von der Leyen served in the federal government of Germany from 2005 to 2019 and was the longest-serving member of Chancellor Angela Merkel's government. She is a member of the Christian Democratic Union (CDU) and its EU counterpart, the European People's Party (EPP).