Support journalism that lights the way through the climate crisis

Goal: $100k

The British Columbia New Democrats have been sworn in as government after 16 years on the Opposition benches.

In a ceremony led by First Nations drumming and songs, Premier John Horgan unveiled his cabinet for a government that has a one-seat edge over the Liberals after an agreement was reached with the three Green members following the election in May.

Horgan says his cabinet is the first in British Columbia to achieve gender parity, with 10 women in cabinet and one named as minister of state.

Six members of the legislative assembly have been named as parliamentary secretaries, ranging in areas such as poverty reduction and emergency preparedness.

The NDP has also created a new Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions, with former health critic Judy Darcy at the helm, as the death toll from opioid overdoses continues to climb in B.C.

NDP stalwart Carole James is now deputy premier and minister of finance while longtime New Democrat Mike Farnworth becomes solicitor general and public safety minister.

"Our government will offer families relief from high costs and fees, strengthen services like health care and education, and create good jobs and economic opportunity across B.C.," Horgan said.

Green party Leader Andrew Weaver congratulated Horgan and his cabinet, calling the minority government a "once-in-a-lifetime chance to do politics differently in British Columbia."

"We have a historic opportunity to put partisan politics aside and work together across party lines to advance good public policy that is in the best interest of British Columbians," Weaver said.

British Columbia's new cabinet ministers

Carole James: finance and deputy premier

Mike Farnworth: public safety and solicitor general

Adrian Dix: health

David Eby: attorney general

Melanie Mark: advanced education, skills and training

Lana Popham: agriculture

Katrine Conroy: children and family development

Jinny Sims: citizens' services

Rob Fleming: education

Michelle Mungall: energy, mines and petroleum resources

George Heyman: environment and climate change strategy

Doug Donaldson: forests, lands, natural resource operations and rural development

Scott Fraser: indigenous relations and reconciliation

Bruce Ralston: jobs, trade and technology

Harry Bains: labour

Judy Darcy: mental health and addictions

Selina Robinson: municipal affairs and housing

Shane Simpson: social development and poverty reduction

Lisa Beare: tourism, arts and culture

Claire Trevena: transportation and infrastructure

George Chow: minister of state for trade

Katrina Chen: minister of state for child care

Jennifer Rice: parliamentary secretary for emergency preparedness

Mable Elmore: parliamentary secretary for poverty reduction

Anne Kang: parliamentary secretary for seniors

Ravi Kahlon: parliamentary secretary for sport and multiculturalism

Rick Glumac: parliamentary secretary for technology

Bowinn Ma: parliamentary secretary for Translink

Keep reading