• Canadian Association of Journalism: Canada's National Observer Deputy Editor David McKie takes prestigious Bury Award in recognition of his 'pioneering work in the field of computer-assisted reporting/data journalism in Canada over the past several decades in newsrooms and classrooms across the country.' Co-recipient Fred Vallance-Jones.
  • Canadian Association of Journalism nomination with Vice for Best Photojournalism (Jesse Winter)



Canadian Online Publishing Awards:

Canadian Association of Journalists

  • Best Emerging Indigenous Reporting: Emilee Gilpin


Finalists, Canadian Association of Journalists:

  1. Carl Meyer: Daily Excellence
  2. Emily Gilpin: Emerging Indigenous Journalist
  3. Mike De Souza Online Media Investigative Reporting
  • Canadian Committee: World Press Freedom Honourable Mention to Mike De Souza at 2018 awards ceremony
  • Hillman Foundation: Honourable Mention for Price of Oil series
  • Finalists, Digital Publishing Awards: General Excellence in Digital Publishing for Small Publications
  • Emerge Media Award to the Film Crude Power
  • Finalist, Canadian Journalism Foundation 'Jackman Award': Price of Oil series
  • Finalist, RTDNA (Radio, Television, Digital News Association): Price of Oil series
  • Finalist, Investigative Reporters and Editors Association: Film Crude Power



  • Winner of the Association for the Protection of Fur-Bearing Animals' Clements Award: Elizabeth McSheffrey

Finalists, Canadian Association of Journalists:

  1. Online Media: Joshua Hergesheimer
  2. Online Media: Elizabeth McSheffrey
  3. Scoop: Staff Reporters



  • Finalist, Canadian Journalism Foundation: Excellence in Journalism for Small Media, Vancouver Observer



Winner, Canadian Online Publishing Awards:

  1. Best Website in Canada
  2. Best Online-Only Article